This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo credits: Various

So, it’s been a long couple of days since the “election” and I’m finally ready to write something about it. I like to process things and think on the implications of major events instead of trying to be the first to the keyboard.

I remembered what Reagan said once (back when America was “Great” I guess!) in a speech that it was “Morning in America.” People actually felt hope for a change, like someone cared. Of course history would prove different, but I appreciate the sentiment. I guess that would make this election “Midnight in America!” I understand, Hillary gave a great concession speech. The President made gracious remarks in the Rose Garden. They urged us to give him a chance, to “respect” the voice of the voters. I’m sorry Mr. President, Madame Secretary, but in my estimation, I just can’t do that. And it would appear that I am not alone in that sentiment either.

Like so many of you, I awoke Wednesday sick to my stomach, with a feeling of anxiety and fear for the future of unknown. I tried to come to grips quickly. I mean, I’ve experienced disappointment before and lived to tell the tale. But this time, it’s just different. It took me another day to formulate why in my head. I don’t know, I should have realized it sooner, after all, it was right there in front of me. So I was trying to fly under the radar, and get the facebook worlds take on this when I noticed that a great many people just flat out did not understand how or why the other half of the country felt this way. So I took to the keyboard to write this, hopefully clear, explanation and issue a challenge. I hope you enjoy.

From Facebook:

So, I’ve been reading posts all day about why some people can’t seem to understand all the protests, and general reasoning for all the fear and reservation that many are feeling right now. So I wrote this on a Facebook friend’s post, who was very concerned about certain members of his family.Hopefully it helps somebody understand.
If it doesn’t, that’s fine. You’re entitled to your opinion. If mine bothers you that much, sorry and goodbye.
Please just read it. Don’t bother commenting negatively, I’ll just delete it. I’m in no mood this week to argue. I understand some of you might be happy, but again, nobody wants to hear about it. I try very hard not to bring my politics onto here, but this is just too important for people to understand.
If you feel so inclined, feel free to share:

XXXXXX, I am sorry for you and yours. I have several nieces and nephews that I feel the same way about.
I can appreciate your desire to have a reasoned and respectful dialogue also. Having said that, after reading some comments on this thread, I can see that some people live in their own bubbles and just don’t get it. They are not going to be the Muslim out grocery shopping in a hijab that gets cursed at and spat on just because they don’t believe in someone else s God. They are not going to be the gay couple relentlessly harassed for holding hands in public. They are not going to be the one called “liberal bitch” because of a sticker on their car.
You can debate economic policy, foreign affairs, the military, or whatever until you’re blue in the face. Truth is, none of that matters here. Any of those changes can be reversed in 4 years if they prove harmful.
When Bush Jr. was finally declared the winner in 2000, we were willing to wait and see, to give him a chance. We were disappointed, sure, but nobody I knew feared for their or their families safety.At the time, nobody knew the future, but people weren’t fearful because Bush won.
What is the concern now? The thousands in the streets, what has even more people expressing themselves on Facebook, Twitter or whatever, is that the election of this man has awakened and emboldened a side of the American psyche that most had thought was either repressed, or at best shamed into the shadows.
Already, not two days later, I see reports of happenings just like the examples I gave earlier.

Related: Day 1 In Trump’s America

But how can Trump do this now? No, no one said he was going to stand on the lawn of the White House and call for violence against Mexicans, Muslims or Blacks. But his divisiveness and hostility during the campaign, and this “victory” has emboldened racists, bigots, and hateful people all across the country.
Whom do we believe are going to be the first “volunteers” to join this “Deportation Force” of which he speaks. And what will their reasons be, love if country and the rule of law? I would hope there’s anyone that naive.
What happens when people just start reporting people as illegals just for being a darker shade if brown. What happens when the “force” comes to pick up and deport the adopted child because one of their birth parents were illegals, and Birthright Citizenship is done away with, like he has called for! Like his Party has called for!
What happens then?
Do you fight for whats right, or just send “thoughts and prayers” because it doesn’t affect you, and your all white, suburban family.
So please don’t sit there in your Ivory towers and tell people to get over it and not to be afraid, or to just “give him a chance.”. And try to justify the outcome, or sling insults and accusations of paranoia. Apparently, we are not alone in feeling that way. There is a reason that thousands took to the streets yesterday and today, and probably tomorrow. There is a reason, and a quite valid one at that, for many Americans and Immigrants to experience these emotions.
My question and challenge to all is this. When you see the truck on lifters with the large Confederate flag mounted on it, and the driver and passengers are relentlessly insulting and threatening a woman just because she’s wearing a Burka, what do YOU do? Do you stand up for her, and a principle that is America, or do you just get in your car, drive away, and be thankful it wasn’t you!
Not likely, you might say. That would never happen here. Well, if you live your life out in an all white suburb somewhere, or in a “civilized place” you may not, lucky you. But if you live in the South, in a rural community, near the mountains, etc.  what are the chances?
Still not likely, you think.That that would happen and it would escalate that far and beyond. There are still a few thousand Japanese Americans that grew up behind barbed wire fences and armed guards, who were US Citizens, you should ask them what American fear looks like! Well certainly not beyond, not here, not again, right? Well, there’s 6 to 8 million dead Jews in Germany that would disagree with that if they could.
If you’re still incapable of any empathy at this point, I don’t know what to tell you other than you have my pity.

-Annoyed

